News Ticker

Ryan Unzicker Rebounds for Clarksville Summer Nationals Win

Points leader Bobby Pierce has rare bad luck


Unzicker winCLARKSVILLE, Tenn. – June 29, 2016 – Ryan Unzicker has been charging through Summer Nationals but has not had the finishes he would have hoped. That changed Tuesday night at Clarksville Speedway as he was able to claim his first DIRTcar Summer Nationals victory of the season.

Unzicker started on the front row with current points leader and reigning Summer Nationals champion Bobby Pierce to his outside. Pierce fell back to sixth early and then got tangled in a crash – he ultimately finished 18th.

Unzicker jumped to the early lead with Tanner English taking second. The two battled throughout the feature as Terry English, father of Tanner English moved into third. Unzicker nearly had his night ended as he tangled with a lapped car, but he was able to keep running.

The win is English’s first Summer Nationals victory since 2013.

“We started off slow with the Summer Nationals but we’re coming along now,” Unzicker said.

“I’m just a real good (low-groove) racer and I’ve been coming down (to Clarksville) for many years for the Toilet Bowl and the Summer Nationals, and I’ve just got my own little setup here,” said Unzicker, who won Toilet Bowl event at the track over the winter. “It played in my favor a little bit with the rain (staying) on the bottom, but our car’s been running good here for four or five nights in a row.”

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals returns to action tonight at Belle Clair Speedway in Belleville, Ill.

Follow the Summer Nationals and Summit Modified Nationals on Twitter at or on Facebook at Stay up-to-date with the latest news from the series throughout the lead up and the summer on the series’ websites at and

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Clarksville Speedway; Clarksville, Tenn.

A-Main: 1. Ryan Unzicker (El Paso, IL), 2. Tanner English (Benton, KY), 3. Terry English (Benton, KY), 4. Bob Gardner (East Peoria, IL), 5. Gordy Gundaker (St Charles, MO), 6. Caleb Ashby (Cunningham, TN), 7. Kyle Beard (Trumann, AR), 8. Brent Larson (Lake Elmo, MN), 9. Wendell Wallace (Batesville, AR), 10. Richard Frost (Clarksville, TN), 11. Ross Camponova (Clarksdale, MS), 12. Larry Greer (Bowling Green, Ky), 13. Daniel Hopper (Peru, IL), 14. Austin Rettig (Sikeston, MO), 15. Mark Voigt (Marine, IL), 16. Levi Ashby (Cumberland Furnance, TN), 17. Jacob Minon (Adams, TN), 18. Bobby Pierce (Oakwood, IL), 19. Jason Feger (Bloomington, IL), 20. Jeffrey Bailey (Calvert City, KY), 21. Mitchell Lingauer (Clarksville, TN), 22. Jim Moon (New Florence, MO), 23. Timothy Culp (Sheridan, AR). Hard Charger: Ross Campnova.

2016 DIRTcar Summer Nationals Schedule

Date Day Track Winners
Northern Kickoff
June 15 Wednesday Brownstown Speedway Rain/Cancelled
June 16 Thursday Kankakee Co. Speedway Bobby Pierce
June 17 Friday Cedar Lake Speedway Billy Moyer
June 18 Saturday Cedar Lake Speedway Billy Moyer (2)
June 19 Sunday Wilmot Speedway Bobby Pierce (2)
Heartland Tour
June 20 Monday OFF
June 21 Tuesday Jacksonville Speedway Bobby Pierce (3)
June 22 Wednesday Farley Speedway Rain/Cancelled
June 23 Thursday Spoon River Speedway Dennis Erb Jr.
June 24 Friday Tri-City Speedway Bobby Pierce (4)
June 25 Saturday Fairbury Speedway Brandon Sheppard
June 26 Sunday Tri-State Speedway Bobby Pierce (5)
Southern Tour
June 27 Monday OFF
June 28 Tuesday Clarksville Speedway Ryan Unzicker
June 29 Wednesday Belle Clair Speedway
June 30 Thursday Springfield Raceway
July 1 Friday Fayette Co. Speedway
July 2 Saturday Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55
July 3 Sunday Lincoln Speedway
Independence Week
July 4 Monday LaSalle Speedway
July 5 Tuesday Daugherty Speedway
July 6 Wednesday Peoria Speedway
July 7 Thursday Macon Speedway
July 8 Friday Farmer City Speedway
July 9 Saturday Highland Speedway
July 10 Sunday Quincy Raceways
Champions Week
July 11 Monday OFF
July 12 Tuesday Plymouth Speedway
July 13 Wednesday Shadyhill Speedway
July 14 Thursday Merritt Speedway
July 15 Friday Oakshade Raceway
July 16 Saturday Oakshade Raceway

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” is brought to fans across the country by many important partners including: Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Company), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tires), Racing Electronics (Official Communication), VP Racing Fuel (Official Racing Fuel); in addition to these fine Contingency Partners: Beyea Headers, Comp Cams, Edelbrock, Fox Shocks, JE Pistons, MSD, Impact Race Products, Quartermaster, Superflow Dynos, Summit Racing Equipment and Wrisco Aluminum; Promotional Partners include: Chevy Performance Parts, Indiana Decal, Intercomp and Petroff Towing.

Outlaw bottom 200