News Ticker

Bobby Pierce Returns to the Top with Belle-Clair Win

The series returns to action Thursday at Springfield Raceway


Bobby Pierce helltour win2093BELLEVILLE, Ill. – June 30, 2016 – After rare bad luck at Clarksville Speedway on Tuesday night, Bobby Pierce rebounded on Wednesday to win at Belle-Clair Speedway and claim his sixth DIRTcar Summer Nationals victory of the season.

Jason Feger looked to be the driver to beat early as he tried for his first Summer Nationals victory of the season. On the green, he jumped ahead of Ryan Unzicker. Through the opening laps, Unzicker tried to run down Feger and nearly had him when a caution flag flew.
bobby pierce car helltour 220After the caution, Feger pulled away as Pierce battled into third and then began challenging Unzicker for second. Through traffic, the top three stayed tight and Pierce was able to take over second on lap 30. On a restart with 10 laps remaining, Pierce took his shot. Feger bobbled on the back straight and Pierce took the lead.

“I was just kind of being patient, waiting for him to hopefully to do that,” Pierce said. “And right when he did that, at the same time I had a heckuva run, and I just decided to take it right there, and luckily it paid off.”

Feger finished in second with Unzicker in third.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals continues to roll Thursday night with a stop at Springfield Raceway in Springfield, Mo.

Follow the Summer Nationals and Summit Modified Nationals on Twitter at or on Facebook at Stay up-to-date with the latest news from the series throughout the lead up and the summer on the series’ websites at and

Dirtcar summer nats logoDIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Belle-Clair Speedway; Belleville, Ill.

A-Main: 1. Bobby Pierce (Oakwood, IL), 2. Jason Feger (Bloomington, IL), 3. Ryan Unzicker (El Paso, IL), 4. Rusty Griffaw (Festus, MO), 5. Shannon Babb (Moweaqua, IL), 6. Timothy Culp (Sheridan, AR), 7. Rodney Melvin (Benton, IL), 8. Rick Salter (Aviston, IL), 9. Gordy Gundaker (St Charles, MO), 10. Daryn Klein (Fairview Heights, IL), 11. Mike Hammerle (St Charles, MO), 12. Bob Gardner (East Peoria, IL), 13. Kyle Beard (Trumann, AR), 14. Greg Kimmons (Pleasant Plains, IL), 15. Brent Larson (Lake Elmo, MN), 16. Corey Ford (Belleville, IL), 17. Chad Zobrist (Highland, IL), 18. Adam Tischhauser (Mulberry Grove, IL), 19. Michael Kloos (Trenton, IL), 20. Mike Schulte (Summer Field, IL), 21. Myles Moos (Lincoln, IL), 22. Matt Taylor (Springfield, IL). Hard Charger: Timothy Culp.

2016 DIRTcar Summer Nationals Schedule

Date Day Track Winners
Northern Kickoff
June 15 Wednesday Brownstown Speedway Rain/Cancelled
June 16 Thursday Kankakee Co. Speedway Bobby Pierce
June 17 Friday Cedar Lake Speedway Billy Moyer
June 18 Saturday Cedar Lake Speedway Billy Moyer (2)
June 19 Sunday Wilmot Speedway Bobby Pierce (2)
Heartland Tour
June 20 Monday OFF
June 21 Tuesday Jacksonville Speedway Bobby Pierce (3)
June 22 Wednesday Farley Speedway Rain/Cancelled
June 23 Thursday Spoon River Speedway Dennis Erb Jr.
June 24 Friday Tri-City Speedway Bobby Pierce (4)
June 25 Saturday Fairbury Speedway Brandon Sheppard
June 26 Sunday Tri-State Speedway Bobby Pierce (5)
Southern Tour
June 27 Monday OFF
June 28 Tuesday Clarksville Speedway Ryan Unzicker
June 29 Wednesday Belle-Clair Speedway Bobby Pierce (6)
June 30 Thursday Springfield Raceway
July 1 Friday Fayette Co. Speedway
July 2 Saturday Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55
July 3 Sunday Lincoln Speedway
Independence Week
July 4 Monday LaSalle Speedway
July 5 Tuesday Daugherty Speedway
July 6 Wednesday Peoria Speedway
July 7 Thursday Macon Speedway
July 8 Friday Farmer City Speedway
July 9 Saturday Highland Speedway
July 10 Sunday Quincy Raceways
Champions Week
July 11 Monday OFF
July 12 Tuesday Plymouth Speedway
July 13 Wednesday Shadyhill Speedway
July 14 Thursday Merritt Speedway
July 15 Friday Oakshade Raceway
July 16 Saturday Oakshade Raceway

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” is brought to fans across the country by many important partners including: Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Company), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tires), Racing Electronics (Official Communication), VP Racing Fuel (Official Racing Fuel); in addition to these fine Contingency Partners: Beyea Headers, Comp Cams, Edelbrock, Fox Shocks, JE Pistons, MSD, Impact Race Products, Quartermaster, Superflow Dynos, Summit Racing Equipment and Wrisco Aluminum; Promotional Partners include: Chevy Performance Parts, Indiana Decal, Intercomp and Petroff Towing.

Outlaw bottom 200