News Ticker

Briscoe Doing “Double-Duty” at Chicagoland; Joins ARCA for Live FS1 Telecast


JOLIET, Ill. (Sept. 12, 2017) — ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards champion Chase Briscoe has added his name to the list of drivers doing “double duty” this weekend at Chicagoland Speedway, sort of.

Briscoe, in addition to driving his NASCAR Truck for Brad Keselowski Racing in Friday night’s Camping World Truck Series Chicagoland 225, is going to tune up in the broadcast booth with ARCA’s Thursday night kickoff — the SCOTT 150, Live on FS1.

“If we weren’t already locked into the playoffs, I might be more nervous about the race, but, honestly, the live TV is probably scarier than rolling off the grid,” said Briscoe.

Briscoe won the SCOTT 150 last year at Chicagoland en route to the 2016 ARCA national championship, driving for Cunningham Motorsports. He’s also not a complete rookie in the TV booth having contributed to the ARCA race at Pocono this year as a color commentator.

2016 SCOTT 150 winner Chase Briscoe

“It was so much fun but a lot more challenging than I realized. There’s so much going on behind the scenes. It was definitely more than I anticipated. It’s crazy how much goes into it…how tough it is. To see what really goes on, from the producer all the way to the camera guys, it’s crazy.”

Briscoe also noted that he got more comfortable as the broadcast went on.

“I felt like I lightened up a bit about halfway through. I’ve already been getting tips for the next race. It’s fun but it’s nerve-wracking. Hopefully, I’ll get better so I can continue to do it because I really enjoy it.”Briscoe will be joining play-by-play announcer Kevin Lee and veteran color commentator Phil Parsons in the booth for Thursday night’s SCOTT 150, Live on FS1 at 8 p.m. Eastern. Jim Tretow is set to handle the duties on pit road.

Briscoe can momentarily breathe a sigh of relief knowing he made the Chase for the NASCAR Truck Series in his rookie season.

“I’m in the playoffs. We finished second a couple times…Texas and Gateway. Probably should have won three in a row…just weird stuff happened at the end.”

As a past ARCA champion, Briscoe definitely keeps up with the ARCA tour.

“I’m definitely keeping up with what’s going on. I’m always paying attention to the audio and the timing and scoring or watching it on TV. Love the Live Chat Board…I get on there quite a bit, so I’m definitely in the loop. I still hang out at the Cunningham shop and chat with Chad (Bryant/crew chief) pretty regularly…talk to Briggs (Cunningham) every day. I’ll always follow ARCA…I enjoy the people and it’s a big part of my life.”

Briscoe won six ARCA races in 2016 and couldn’t help but notice that Austin Theriault just won his sixth race of the season Saturday at Salem.

“I feel like Austin’s got the championship pretty-well locked up. He’s doing a heck of a job. He’s had a ton of consistency and he’s literally put himself up front and in position to win everywhere. I’ve known Austin for a couple years…it’d be cool to see him win it. He deserves it. At the same time, I’m always rooting for the 77 and the 22.”

He’s also looking forward to the SCOTT 150 live telecast.

“Chicagoland is one of my favorite tracks and I’m really excited about the whole weekend. Getting to do the ARCA race on live TV is really exciting. It’s so much fun and what an honor to get the call.”

No Repeat ARCA Winners at Chicagoland
In 16 consecutive ARCA races at Chicagoland, there have been no repeat winners among drivers. Former ARCA Chicagoland winners are Ed Berrier (2001), Chad Blount (2002), Frank Kimmel (2003), Kyle Krisiloff (2004), Dawayne Bryan (2005), Steve Wallace (2006), Michael McDowell (2007), Scott Lagasse, Jr. (2008), Justin Lofton (2009), Patrick Sheltra (2010), Ty Dillon (2011), Kevin Swindell (2012), Corey LaJoie (2013). Mason Mitchell (2014), Ryan Reed (2015) and Chase Briscoe (2016).

No Repeat ARCA Pole Winners at Chicagoland
In addition to no repeat victories among drivers, there have been no repeat General Tire pole winners either. Chad Blount (2002), Frank Kimmel (2003), Steve Wallace (2006), Michael McDowell (2007), and Kevin Swindell (2012) won the race from the pole. Other pole winners at Chicagoland include Tim Steele (2001), Stuart Kirby (2004), Joey Miller (2005), Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. (2008), Brian Ickler (2009), Craig Goess (2010), Josh Richards (2011), Ryan Blaney (2013), John Wes Townley (2014), Cody Coughlin (2015) and Shane Lee (2016). The ARCA one-lap track record was set in 2008 by Stenhouse with an average speed of 180.030 mph.

Schedule/Media Coverage
The SCOTT 150 is LIVE on FS1 at 8 p.m. Eastern/7 Central Thursday night, Sept. 14. General Tire Pole Qualifying will accompany raceday activities at 4:35 p.m. will provide live timing and scoring and live chat of all on-track activities.