News Ticker

Toyotas Run 1-2 on Night Two of the Chili Bowl


Toyota RacingTULSA, Okla.(Jan. 16, 2019) – Kyle Larson passed Zach Daum for the lead on lap six and led the final 20 laps with Daum finishing second in ‪Tuesday night‬’s Warren CAT Qualifying Night feature as each will advance directly to Saturday’s A Main at the 33rd annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals at the Tulsa Expo Raceway. Larson’s victory marked the fifth for a Keith Kunz Motorsports prepared car in the last six qualifying night feature events.

Toyota drivers have now earned the first four berths in Saturday’s A Main after Logan Seavey and Brady Bacon ran one-two on Monday.

Daum began the event from the pole position and quickly moved into the lead in the early going with Larson on his tail. After Daum paced the first five laps, Larson got a run on the outside heading into turn one and took the lead coming out of two. At that point, Larson would pull away to a comfortable lead before Daum began to close in traffic as the laps began to wind down. A late race yellow would open things up for Larson in the last few laps as he drove off to the victory.

“Sometimes when you’re the leader early, you get caught having to run the low line as the track changes – that’s one of the benefits of running behind the leader is you get to see what’s working and I was able to get around Zach,” said a victorious Larson. “It was nice to get the lead and we were able to run a good pace. I’m just happy to get the win tonight, now we can just get ready to go ‪on Saturday night‬ and try to get a Driller.”

After giving up the lead early, Daum would continue to improve throughout the race.

“We had a nice rhythm and we were just counting down the laps,” said Daum, a three-time POWRi champion. “We got better and better as the race went on. I just didn’t have enough there early. It’s nice to get a chance to relax and just tinker on our car the rest of the week and try to make it a little better. We were getting better as we got closer to 25 laps, but now we need to work on getting better on the way to 55.”

Jesse Colwell and Tanner Berryhill also advanced to Tuesday’s A Main with Colwell earning an eighth-place finish, while Berryhill placed 10th.  Colwell will ‪start Saturday’s‬ racing from the B Main, with Berryhill beginning in the C.

Sterling Cling and Chris Andrews each advanced to Tuesday’s B Main, while Zane Hendricks night ended in the C Main.

In Tuesday’s Vacuworx Invitational Race of Champion, Larson placed second, one spot ahead of teammate Christopher Bell, who charged from 15th to third in the 20-lap event. J.J. Yeley placed fifth, Logan Seavey was sixth, Rico Abreu finished eighth and Tucker Klaasmeyer brought it home in 11th, three spots ahead of Chad Boat.

This year’s Chili Bowl features more than 360 entries – each fighting for one of the 24 openings in ‪Saturday night‬’s “A Main” feature event. Qualifying continues for each of the next four nights with 12 more Toyota-powered drivers expected to attempt to qualify on Wednesday.

chili bowl

Toyota Tuesday Results


01 Kyle Larson

A Main – 1st

5D Zach Daum

A Main – 2nd

71 Jesse Colwell

A Main – 8th

89 Tanner Berryhill

A Main – 10th

35 Sterling Cling

B Main 12th

91A Chris Andrews

B Main – 16th

27Z Zane Hendricks

C Main – DNS

 Remaining Toyota Qualifying Line-Up




1L Simon

5R Foster

5S J. Elledge

2J Yeley

25 Coons Jr.

27 Klaasmeyer

5T Truedson

56X Chisholm

84X Boat

08 McIntosh

71W Bell

97K Bayston

13M Gile

71X Haase

15M McDougal

72K Johnson

52 Hahn

83 K. Elledge

67K Hollan

76G Gravel

87 Copeland

91T Thomas

97 Abreu

 Toyota Powered Drivers Saturday Qualifying Positions  

Car #





Kyle Larson

Elk Grove, CA

A Main


Zach Daum

Pocahontas, IL

A Main


Kyle Craker

Lewisberry, PA

E Main


Paul Nienhiser

Chapin, IL

C Main


Zane Hendricks

Stillwater, OK

O Main


Sterling Cling

Tempe, AZ

H Main


Logan Seavey

Sutter, CA

A Main


Jesse Colwell

Cottonwood, CA

B Main


Tanner Carrick

Lincoln, CA

D Main


Brady Bacon

Broken Arrow, OK

A Main


Tanner Berryhill

Bixby, OK

C Main


Chris Andrews

Sandusky, OH

I Main


Hayden Williams

Auckland, NZ

E Main