News Ticker

Terry Smith, Dan Steed and Jeff Taylor Headline Nine JEGS SPORTSnationals Champions


Jegs topHEBRON, Ohio (September 23, 2019) – Terry Smith, Dan Steed, and Jeff Taylor headlined the nine champions crowned today at the JEGS SPORTSnationals at National Trail Raceway. Smith earned the title in Comp Eliminator, Steed picked up his first NHRA national event win in Super Stock and Taylor won Stock for his 46th career victory.

Other champions crowned at the prestigious event, which showcases NHRA’s Lucas Oil Series sportsman drivers, include Ed Jirousek (Super Comp), Scott Deffenbaugh (Super Gas), Jim Unum (Super Street), Scott Wasko (Top Sportsman), Danny Nelson (Top Dragster), and Michael Nash (Sportsman Motorcycle).

Smith earned the Comp when he defeated Brian Browell in an all-dragster Comp final. Smith previously won the 2016 St. Louis race.

Steed earned his trophy by stopping Matt Morris, driving his ’66 Chevy Nova to a perfect 10.52 elapsed time on a 10.52 dial-in. Morris broke-out with a 9.89 on his 9.92 prediction.

A four-time world champion and now 46-time national event champion, Taylor drove his ’15 COPO Camaro to a 9.70 on a 9.64 dial to defeat Bill Sempsrott in his ’66 Nova. Taylor now has six wins at National Trail Raceway including JEGS SPORTSnationals titles in 2005, 2008 and now 2019.

Jirousek, a runner-up in Saturday’s K&N Shootout race, stayed sharp Sunday, capturing the victory in Super Comp by defeating Rick Pistole. Jirousek ran a perfect 8.90 on the 8.90 index for the win while Pistole ran too-quickly with an 8.89-second breakout.

The Super Gas title went to Deffenbaugh after he drove his ’66 Nova to a 9.91 to defeat past NHRA world champion Jacob Elrod, who broke out with an 8.89 in his Corvette roadster.

A perfect 10.90 run in the Super Street final helped Unum earn his first NHRA title in his ’69 Firebird. Unum won via a breakout after his opponent, Gary Horstmann, ran too quick with a 10.89. Horstmann was the winner of the 2017 JEGS SPORTSnationals in Bowling Green, Ky.

Wasko left with the trophy in Top Sportsman presented by Racing when he drove his Pontiac GXP past the ’69 Camaro of reigning Division 2 Top Sportsman champ Sandy Wilkins. Wasko finished the job with a 6.63 on his 6.60 dial-in while Wilkins lost despite a 6.66 on his 6.66 dial.

Nelson took over the championship points lead in Top Dragster presented by Racing when he stopped David Maggard in the final. Nelson, who has now won three races this season, had a nearly perfect .001-second reaction time and sealed the win with a 6.13 on a 6.10 dial-in. Maggard was close behind with a 6.71 on a 6.70 dial.

Nash made the long trip from Texas pay off when he rode his Suzuki to the title in the Sportsman Motorcycle class. Nash won the final with an 8.07 on his 8.03 dial-in against Dave Gautreaux, who missed his 9.00 prediction with a 9.09.

Each of the champions crowned Sunday evening received a special edition copper NHRA Wally trophy, available only at the JEGS SPORTSnationals. Next year, each of the winners also will be eligible for the JEGS Crown, a special handcrafted trophy that goes to any driver who can win back-to-back JEGS SPORTSnationals titles in the same class.jegs

About JEGS Automotive, Inc.
JEGS Automotive, Inc. (JEGS) is one of the largest e-commerce and mail order high-performance auto parts retailers worldwide. Founded in 1960 by racing legend Jeg Coughlin Sr., JEGS remains family-owned to this day and offers more than 1 million SKUs available for purchase. The JEGS corporate headquarters is located in Delaware, Ohio, and is home to a 225,000-square-foot warehouse and distribution center, two state-of-the-art call centers, the Coughlin Family classic car and truck collection, the Team JEGS racing research and development facility and The JEGS Foundation. For more information, call (800) 345-4545 or visit us at

About Team JEGS
Team JEGS is the official racing team of JEGS Automotive, Inc. (JEGS), and is fueled by the legacy of one of racing’s most winningest families, the Coughlin Family. Led by JEGS founder and International Drag Racing Hall of Fame Inductee Jeg Coughlin Sr. and his four eldest sons, John, Troy Sr., Mike and Jeg Jr., Team JEGS has claimed nine National Hot Rod Association (NHRA) World Championships, 17 divisional championships and 121 NHRA national event victories. Meet Team JEGS, follow the Team JEGS race schedule and results, and learn more about racing by visiting