News Ticker

Seavey Sets POWRi Win Record in Dominating Fashion at Belle-Clair


powri toyota cardBELLEVILLE, Ill. (October 14, 2019) – Starting from the outside of the front row, Logan Seavey went straight to the front and led all 30 laps to win the POWRI Lucas Oil National Midget League’s Charlene Meents Memorial feature at Belle-Clair Speedway Sunday night and set a new series record for most victories in a season with 12.

Seavey entered the night tied with Christopher Bell, who won 11 POWRi events in 2014. For the year, Seavey has now recorded 16 national midget car feature events. Overall, Toyota-powered drivers have captured 37 features this season.

As the green flag flew on Sunday night, Seavey rolled the high line straight to the lead over pole-sitter Andrew Felker, with Jesse Colwell, Andrew Layser, Daison Pursley and Zach Daum falling in behind them.

While Seavey paced the field, Colwell would move up into second on lap two, only to have Felker reclaim the spot on lap seven. Behind them, Tanner Thorson had moved into the top five, followed by Daum and Buddy Kofoid, who finished second in Saturday’s POWRi event in his national midget car debut.

As the race approached the midway point, Felker began to close on Seavey and challenge for the lead with the two cars running side-by-side with 14 to go. Seavey was able to hold him off, though, and would pull out to a half-second lead.

Further back in the field, the 17-year old Kofoid had moved into the top four, with Cannon McIntosh having charged from the back of the field up to fifth on lap 22. As the laps continued to wind down Kofoid moved past Colwell for third on lap 28.

While the action heating up further back in the field, no one had an answer for Seavey upfront as the Sutter, Calif.-native would take the checkered flag for his record-breaking win with Felker placing second and Kofoid earning his second consecutive podium finish in his first two races with Keith Kunz Motorsports. McIntosh passed Colwell for fourth on the final lap, as Colwell would finish fifth to give Toyota four of the top-five finishers. For the night, McIntosh passed 19 cars from his 23rd starting position. Pursley placed eighth and Daum was ninth.

With his fifth-place finish tonight, Colwell extends his championship lead to 50 points over Daum with just three races remaining.

The POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget League returns to the track next Saturday night at I-30 Speedway in Little Rock, Arkansas.

Toyota Belle-Clair Speedway Results
Logan Seavey – 1st
Buddy Kofoid – 3rd
Cannon McIntosh – 4th
Jesse Colwell – 5th
Daison Pursley – 8th
Zach Daum – 9th
Tucker Klaasmeyer – 12th
Tanner Carrick – 13th
Jesse Love – 14th
Holley Hollan – 15th

POWRi Point Standings
1. Jesse Colwell – 6960
2. Zach Daum – 6610
3. Jake Neuman – 6060
4. Daison Pursley – 5910
5. Logan Seavey – 5870

*Toyota Drivers in Bold

About Toyota

Toyota (NYSE:TM) has been a part of the cultural fabric in the U.S. and North America for more than 60 years, and is committed to advancing sustainable, next-generation mobility through our Toyota and Lexus brands. During that time, Toyota has created a tremendous value chain as our teams have contributed to world-class design, engineering, and assembly of more than 38 million cars and trucks in North America, where we have 14 manufacturing plants, 15 including our joint venture in Alabama (10 in the U.S.), and directly employ more than 47,000 people (over 36,000 in the U.S.). Our 1,800 North American dealerships (nearly 1,500 in the U.S.) sold 2.8 million cars and trucks (2.4 million in the U.S.) in 2018.

Through the Start Your Impossible campaign, Toyota highlights the way it partners with community, civic, academic and governmental organizations to address our society’s most pressing mobility challenges. We believe that when people are free to move, anything is possible. For more information about Toyota, visit